Ubuntu

This week I learned a new word…or maybe I should say I AM learning a new word, as I am not sure I have a full understanding of it yet. The word is Ubuntu. It is an African word that doesn’t directly translate to English, but describes the idea that “I am what I am, because of who we all are”.

Unfortunately if you search this word on the internet, most of the results will relate to another “Ubuntu” which is a computer operating system, but if you search Ubuntu along with “African” you will find different results. Nelson Mandela, the great leader who passed away this week, truly exemplified the idea of “Ubuntu” and therefore you can begin to understand the meaning of this word through his experiences.

I love to learn; I plan to be a lifelong student and continue to challenge myself to learn new things every day. I don’t own a TV but I love watching TED talks online. (Side note: I’m completely ok with being called a “nerd!” Growing up I hated missing school so my mom would “home school” us on snow days, PA days, etc. and I loved it!).  I was watching a talk this week called “What I Learned from Nelson Mandela” (see below) and this is where I learned of the word Ubuntu.

http://www.ted.com/talks/boyd_varty_what_i_learned_from_nelson_mandela.html

I love the story of Elvis the Elephant in this Ted Talk; it is worth watching. It reminds me of how interconnected we are; and how the way we experience life is truly a reflection of those around us. It also reminds me of how we are all part of something much bigger than humanity. We often think of humans as being the center of the world but there really is SO much more to life.

I’m not sure if I have a deep understanding of the word Ubuntu, and I am not sure if I ever will, but it makes sense to me on a smaller scale, in terms of our Dance Ability classes. How we all see ourselves in the studio is related to the perspectives, attitudes, beliefs, and actions of those around us. For myself, I know I would not be able to do what I do without the support of the studio owner, the trust of the parents, the enthusiasm and interest from the students, and the commitment from our volunteer team. I am so fortunate to have talented students, with unique abilities, very eager to learn. I am also fortunate to have the trust from parents who support their child’s participation through not only providing them with this opportunity, but providing feedback and guidance to myself and our volunteer team in how to provide the best experience possible. Our volunteers develop into mature individuals, forming relationships with students, parents, and each other. They are given responsibilities, rise to the expectations, and can begin to see themselves as valuable contributing members of society.  All of these things afford ME with the opportunity to do what I do, and ultimately to BE who I am. Isn’t that neat?

I’m always learning from my students and their families. I guess because I love being a “student” I love this part of my role. I am consistently meeting new people, with new perspectives, and gaining new knowledge and ideas about how to connect with students and enable them to reach their potentials. I have had so many incredible teachers over the years, and many of them from outside the classroom or school environment! My students really are my best teachers!

Finally, I’d like to close with a quote from Nelson Mandela that I carry with me for those times when I am having trouble seeing the road ahead…perhaps it will resonate with you as well.  I encourage you to think bigger about how to live out the dreams you have always wanted to, to surround yourself with people who contribute to your happiness, and to believe in yourself no matter what because as Nelson Mandela once said…

It always seems impossible until its done.

Nelson Mandela

And remember, you don’t need to try to change the whole world, you could just start a new dance class and see what happens!

 Thanks for reading one of my Friday afternoon reflections 🙂

Mallory

This entry was posted in Reflection, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ubuntu

  1. Linda Ryan says:

    I think you should consider being a writer because I absolutely love reading everything you write

  2. Milen Teweldai says:

    I have to agree you are captivating in your words as you are in real life! Our son and our entire family is blessed to have come in contact with you and Jade. Something heavenly lead me to you after our son was politely dismissed from another studio because he was disruptive. You should really be proud of what you have built, giving every child a chance to dance! As parents we want our children to have freedom to express themselves and to do so in an environment where there is no judgment, only encouragement and you are giving us just that. Ubuntu indeed, you are making our dreams come true as you are making yours come true also.

Leave a comment